www.Travel-To-Crete.com - CRETE ISLAND GUIDE
Welcome to Crete
Travel to Crete Travel-to-Crete logo
Travel-to-Crete logo Travel-to-Crete logo Travel-to-Crete logo
Travel-to-Crete logo
HOME | E-CARDS | CRETE PHOTOS  
Welcome to ...
blank imageCRETE ISLAND

Crete top 10 proposals
--------------------------------------------------------------------
SEARCH
German translation by Google French Italian Spanish Portuguese Japanese
WORTH SEEING
AGIA AIKATERINI OF S
LATO
ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEU
THE MONASTERY OF TOP
THE SAMARIA GORGE
CAVE OF EILEITHYIA
ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEU
ZAKROS
ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEU
TYLISSOS
AGIOS TITOS
TOMB IN MATHIOULAKI'
LEBENA
IDEON ANDRON (CAVE)
Agias Lake

CRETE
HOTELS
RESTAURANTS
CAFE
CAR RENTALS
TRAVEL AGENCY
ARTSHOPS
DIVING
REAL ESTATE
WINE SHOP
NIGHTLIFE
LOCAL PRODUCTS
CAMPING
PHOTOGRAPHY
VILLAS
GYM FITNESS
DAILY CRUISES
BOOKSTORES
GREEK LANGUAGE

MAP
INFORMATION
VILLAGES
BEACHES
WORTH SEEING
PHOTO GALLERY
VIDEO GALLERY
360 PANORAMAS
TOP 10
E-CARDS
TOPICS
MAILING LIST
NEWS
SEARCH
ABOUT US
LINKS
TERMS

Live Crete webcams
CRETE WORTH SEEING PHAISTOS

PHAISTOS
Phaistos was one of the most important centres of Minoan civilization, and the most wealthy and powerful city in southern Crete. It was inhabited from the Neolithic period until the foundation and development of the Minoan palaces in the 15th century B.C. The Minoan city covered a considerable area around the palatial centre. After the destruction of the palace in the 15th century, the city continued to be inhabited in the Mycenaean and Geometric periods, that is, until the 8th century B.C. Later, the temple of Rhea was built to the south of the old palace. The Hellenistic city was extremely prosperous; houses of the period are to be seen in the west court (upper terrace) of the palace. In the middle of the 2nd century B.C. it was destroyed and dominated by the neighbouring city of Gortyn. Traces of habitation dating from the Venetian period are scattered in the whole area. The archaeological investigation of Phaistos started in 1884 by F. Halbherr and continued by the Italian Archaeological School at Athens, under the direction of F. Halbherr and L. Pernier in 1900-1904 and by Doro Levi, in 1950-1971. Along with the excavations, consolidation work was carried out by the Italian Archaeological School. Some of the monuments, mainly the old palace and the royal quarters of the new palace, were protected under plastic sheds, while others, like the storerooms of the new palace, were covered with a concrete roofing.
If you are familiar with this place , please share your opinion of it with other travelers. Write a review!

ABOUT PHAISTOS
PHAISTOS MONUMENTS
THE PALACE OF PHAISTOS
CENTRAL PERISTYLE COURT
THEATRAL AREA
PROCESSIONAL WAYS
THE TWO PALACES


PHAISTOS PHOTOS

PHAISTOS - PHAISTOS - PHAISTOS -

PHAISTOS - PHAISTOS - PHAISTOS -